Follow Us

Log in

The Tom Hunstad Award for Excellence in Children, Youth and Family Ministry

Past "Tommy" Award Recipients:


 Dr. Roland Martinson


 Rev. Daryl Koenig


 Rev. Kelly Chatman


 Rev. Mike Yaconelli


 Rev. Jane Prestbye


 Rev. Bill Kees


 Susan Pursch


 Faye Belskey


 David Scherer;"Agape"


 Rev. Dr. Dick Hardel 


 Bishop Paul Blom


 Search Institute


 Lisa Jeffreys


 Deacon Peggy Hahn


 Lost and Found


 Rev. Heidi Hagstrom


 Rev. Dennis "Tiger" McLuen


 Rev. Yehiel Curry


 Rev. Larry Wagner


 Deacon Kathy Hunstad


 Rev. Tuhina Rasche

 2022 Rev. Regina Goodrich
 2023 Joe Davis
The Story...

When the Network was started, there were many all over the country who were an important part of making it happen. There was energy, excitement and enthusiasm. But it was Tom, who was serving as the chairperson of the first task force, and then the first president of the Network, who emotionally carried the Network on his shoulders, calling people together, casting a wide vision, and making it happen. 

Tom was a youth minister, serving in Eau Claire, Wisconsin, and then a pastor, serving at Olivet Lutheran in Fargo, North Dakota and then at Westwood in St. Louis Park, Minnesota.

Tom was diagnosed early in 2000 with an aggressive form of cancer. After a short, but courageous battle with the disease, Tom died just before Thanksgiving of that year. He is survived by his wife, Lynn and his 2 children, along with many family members, many friends, and this Network.

To honor Tom, the Network Board created an award, the Tom Hunstad Award for Excellence in Youth and Family Ministry. The award is given annually, by the Network. It is not a “youth minister of the year” award…there are no nominations made.* Rather it is an honor, bestowed on someone by the Network through its board. We select someone that we want to honor and to thank for their service. It is the highest award given in the field of youth and family ministry…as far as we know, it is also the only award given in the field of youth and family ministry.

The 2022 Tommy Award Presentation

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software